Sweet’N Low life…

 

sweet-n-low-lifeWriter Wayne Wilson remembers his friend:

The early ’80s found me living in San Luis Obispo on California’s Central Coast, where the neo-hippie community had elevated holistic dietary principles nearly to the status of a religion. One summer afternoon the peripatetic Frizz, passing through town on one of his many mysterious journeys, stopped to visit me, and we drove to a whole foods café.  

A young woman, glowing with health, brought us coffee, and Frizz asked her for some artificial sweetener.

“I’m sorry,” she said with a faintly pitying smile, “we don’t serve anything that causes cancer.”

Frizz fixed her with a stony gaze. “That’s all right,” he said, “I’ve already got it.”

2 Replies to “Sweet’N Low life…”

  1. I met Frizz in the late ’70’s at Walter’s in Claremont. It was before Walter’s turned into what Frizz would have hated… I would sit with him while he jotted lyrics on napkins and chain smoke (this was when people smoked in restaurants…even in Claremont) and drink the bottomless cup of coffee…All the while, his hands would tremble and he would look up and grin when I made him laugh. People would come and go, I’d go back to work then drop in after closing, only to find Frizz where I had been sitting with him earlier in the day. “Hey Frizz, You still here?” Where had the day gone? Frizz was always in his own world. He made my life more interesting and I’ve never forgotten him. I can remember asking him; “Have you eaten anything today Frizz?” He’d look at me, shocked; “I think so” and then that weird little laugh of his.

    Thanks for putting this tribute up on the web. Bob “Frizz” Fuller was a terrific guy.

Leave a comment